Posted by: chrisbatz | February 8, 2009

8 weeks & the Father’s love

Oh, Lord how do I start reading about being a parent when I am still learning how to be a husband?

This was the cry of my heart last night as I was going to bed. Cristina and I are only 8 weeks from becoming full time parents of an incredible gift from the Lord.

When I asked that same question to the Lord this morning, His answer back was one that reassured and excited me. “Chris, you have to know how to be a son before you can be a father. Jesus, my son, knew how to be a son, and I want you to learn from Him.”

This came to my heart as I was reading Derek Prince’s Hubands and Fathers. I have been on this journey of getting my heart healed of offense while encountering God as my Father. Jesus’ message was one of salvation and deliverance, but the second half was to point all creation to the Father of both Heaven and Earth (Eph 3:14-15). Jesus was the only one who could carry the message that God is a Father, since He is His son (John 17)

Jesus said in Matt 11:27 ” All things have been delivered to Me by My Father and no one knows the Son excpet the Father. Nor does anyone know Father except the Son, and He whom the Son wills to know Him.”

This struck me because on my journey, I learned to pray to God as my Father, but never took it any deeper. I am realizing that one of the major themes on the Father’s heart right now on the earth is to reveal Himself through His son as a good Father who loves unconditionally and to know that we are His children. Its called the revelation of the Father’s love. I believe almost all sin is rooted in our false idea of God the Father. Because when one encounters God as a Father, all our enticements to sin loose their grip and we are free to live as innocent children again. I am personally experiencing this through radical encounters and revelations while walking through repentance, confession, and forgiveness.

So He is faithful to answer our heart cry to be free from sin and walk in wholeness and healing… He is such a good good Father.

This is my prayer: Romans 5:5 “…that the love of God may be poured out in your (my) heart by the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

