Posted by: chrisbatz | August 9, 2009

We’re moving!

So its official…. We are moving the first week of September to Seabrook, Texas (a suburb of Houston)…

So here’s the deal… Once the house in Indiana sold the end of April this year, we thought maybe that was the green light for us to put our roots down in KC and buy a house. But we could not qualify for a mortgage since I do not have 2 years history of selfemployment and then it seemed no home owners were interested in seller financing… It felt like one closed door after another. So on our way down to Houston for a mini vacation for our 1 year anniversary…. the question came up “What if we moved to Houston?” You see we had it in our minds that we were going to be stayin in KC for sometime….

So we mentioned it to Cristina’s parents and they were excited…. then door after door continued to confirm this possiblity. Oh, that trip to Houston was supposed to be 10 days but ended being almost 3 weeks because of business contacts made there….

So this is what we are doing. We are moving in with Jim and Carol Maas (Cristina’s folks). We are taking 12 months to get debt free, build savings, to serve and love on the local church, to bond with family, and to seek the Lord. I am planning on building business in Houston… its  fascinating port city. There’s also a huge need for prayer… Cristina has gotten to profound dreams addressing prayer needs in Houston…

During and after 12 months, we are asking lots of questions… we are remaining open and yielded the Holy Spirit and to Jesus’ leadership. We love everyone in KC and will miss them oh so much!!!

But we are excited about the new adventure and challenges soon upon us…. He is faithful!!!

Responses

  1. Wow dude, moving to Texas. Way cool. Been there once on a horrible Layover from Japan. Customs made us miss our connecting flight home during Spring break. So all flights were booked with kids going to Palm Beach County Florida! They coulden’t even get us to Orlando, Tampa, or Ft. Lauderdale!

    Well, I wish you luck, and the staying at the folks place to get debt free sounds like a great idea. After college I lived with folks for a year to build up enough cash for a 10% downpayment on my house, worked like a charm.

    Madeline is way adorable also. I am so happy for you both. I knew you’d be a great dad. She’ll have you wrapped around her little finger in no time.

    Alan and I are thinking about trying for a baby next fall. I graduate with my MBA in June. So here’s hoping everything works out. I told him I want to take him on a Mediterranean/baby making curise for our 5 year anniversary, and he agreed! Now I just got to get in Shape so the pregnany goes smoother. Gained about 10 punds with this whole going back to school thing. But, I have been studying fencing (foil sword) for the last 4 months, and I’m loving it! Just got to stay away from that school vending machine.

    Anyway, say hi to your folks and patrick for me. If you’re even in town again, give me a call. My cell is the same still 561-601-0592.

    ~Jenny (Needs) Smith


Leave a Reply

Categories

