Posted by: chrisbatz | September 28, 2009

The Mystery of God’s Promises

For exaltation (promotion) comes neither from the east nor from the west nor from the south. But God is the Judge: He puts down one, and exalts another. Psalm 75:6-7

Can you relate?

I am a typical human being that likes to be noticed, recognized, and acclaimed for my efforts, gifting, and accomplishments. At times I think I deserve better than the cards dealt me. I also have promises over my life from the Lord. And at times I desire in my heart to see things come to pass by my own strength rather than waiting on the Lord. So I set out consciously and subconsciously to make things happen… to elevate myself to a place saying, “Hey look at me. Look and see what I’ve done. Because so I deserve this next rung in the ladder. I deserve a promotion. I am entitled to it.”

There’s a trap laid at our feet especially in this “get things done culture”. That says if we are called to this or that. If God promised something, it is our responsibility to make it happen, if we do not see God stepping in.

Do you remember:

Abraham – He tried to fulfill God’s promise and created Ishmael. Oops.

Joseph – After his outrageous dreams, he blabbed them to his brothers and family. Look where that left him. Pits, slavery and dungeons.

But then there’s:

David – He refused to kill Saul to take the throne of Israel. He waited on God’s timing.

Pride, entitlement, and lack of patience are enemies to the methods and plans of God. We are not called to make our life callings happen. That is God’s job. No matter where you are in life, the Father can change any circumstance to fulfill the vision in your heart.

Our job is to remain faithful to the Lord in our daily dealings of life. Our job is to grow in righteousness, justice, and the fear of the Lord. To grow in love and watch the hand of the Lord. He desires the glory alone and does not want to share it with another.

Question:

Are you stealing His glory today?

Are you trying to promote yourself and give God a hand in His promises for you?

Do you think God is faithful enough to keep His word with you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

